Sindlesham Court was originally known as Sindlesham Lodge, the main building having been constructed in the late 1700’s.
Before World War II it was owned by a Mrs Smith, a relative of Lady Asquith and it was subsequently requisitioned for use during the war by Miles Aircraft of Woodley as a hostel and training school for female employees.
After the war, in 1948, the Salvatorians established it as a house of studies, putting up new buildings to house students for the priesthood. During the following years the buildings were considerably extended, and in 1964, ‘The Berkshire’ was added with its unique vaulted ceiling and minstrels’ gallery. The Berkshire is where Weddings and Civil Partnership ceremonies take place.
The building was purchased by its current owners in 1967 and since then the facilities have been even further extended and improved, with a major refurbishment of the kitchens and Flavell Banqueting Suite recently completed.